Thread: Blood Tests in New Zealand

Default Blood Tests in New Zealand

I am a UK resident and take warfarin for deep vein thrombosis. As such I have to have an INR blood test every week or so to update my warfarin dose. I shall be travelling in NZ for two months from mid-January. Can any-one advise me on how I can obtain this blood test?
    David E

Visit a local medical centre and ask them.

Just signed up with my local medical centre to collect a repeat prescription and they gave me a form to take to a local blood test business for a whole battery of tests.

Not sure what the deal would be if you weren't signed up as a regular patient. Who needs to the monitor / regulate your medication?

Hello and welcome.

Quote Originally Posted by dreadson View Post
    I am a UK resident and take warfarin for deep vein thrombosis. As such I have to have an INR blood test every week or so to update my warfarin dose. I shall be travelling in NZ for two months from mid-January. Can any-one advise me on how I can obtain this blood test?
    David E
    You would need a lab order from an NZ physician (who will also probably want to manage your dose adjustments). An urgent care place (in most larger towns) should be able to arrange this. The actual blood draw can be done just about anywhere (hospital, freestanding lab, doctor's office, etc). There is not much POS testing (fingerstick) yet in NZ, so anywhere you go will likely require an IV draw.

Please check to see what's covered under NHI reciprocity, and buy travel insurance if needed...all these blood draws/MD visits will add up.
    Last edited by 72andsunny; 5th January 2011 at 08:24 AM.

That's an awkward one..

I need blood tests less regularly, but found it easy enough to get referred to a lab by my new GP, but then I'm settling here and have PR rather than visiting.

Presumably you will also be moving around, so getting the tests done at one centre might not be possible. How long will you be in any one place?