Thread: If I wanted to start a business in NZ....

Default If I wanted to start a business in NZ....

I live in Arizona. Yesterday, I had lunch at Taco del Mar, and while I was eating, decided something along the lines of Taco del Mar, would go over really well in NZ....especially with all the Americans there. www.tacodelmar.com.
    It's good Mexican-style food served in much the same way as Subway.

It took me a long time to learn to like refried beans and I find most Kiwis don't care for them - but the menu could be tweaked a little to suit Kiwi tastes.

I still have Kiwi taste buds and I love their soft tacos in a flour tortilla. Chicken or fish, sliced cabbage or lettuce, tomato, a little cheese and a very mild pico de gallo. Why wouldn't this go over well in NZ? (I'm an artist - no desire to go into the food business - just suggesting it for someone else)

Hmmmm, Tacos

Default Nice idea

One thing about kiwis is that the food scene over here is rapidly expanding with lots of new international flavors appearing on the scene. Tacos is a good one. There are some Tex Mex places here already. Can you find out who the brand holder is, as the key will be securing the relationship with them and the rights to represent and offer the brand (franchise), effectively becoming the NZ franchisor.

There are a few Tex-Mex places around but not like you see in the US with chains like Taco-del-Mar. I have been here for a while now and have only see a handful of Mexican restaurants and I have traveled all over the country.

You see take-a-ways for all sorts of different foods, but I have yet to see a Mexican one.

Personally, I think something like this would be pretty good here and do well.

Just make sure you find the right location/region!