Thread: Midwifery - is it very obstetric lead?

Smile Midwifery - is it very obstetric lead?

Hi all I am new to here and was just after some information I am currently a student midwife here in the UK and am really looking to come over after I finish and am qualified! I know it will be best to stay here and gain some experience before I do I just wanted some information about the job role in New Zealand! Here in the UK I love being able to be the lead role in a delivery and was wondering if this is how it is in NZ or is it very obstetric lead, and the midwife is much more of a maternity nurse? Also how would anyone be able to recommend any good contacts who I should get in contact with to give me some idea of job opportunities?
    I would be very grateful for any information!
    Thank you!
    Sophie

Quote Originally Posted by sophiejane1990 View Post
    Hi all I am new to here and was just after some information I am currently a student midwife here in the UK and am really looking to come over after I finish and am qualified! I know it will be best to stay here and gain some experience before I do I just wanted some information about the job role in New Zealand! Here in the UK I love being able to be the lead role in a delivery and was wondering if this is how it is in NZ or is it very obstetric lead, and the midwife is much more of a maternity nurse? Also how would anyone be able to recommend any good contacts who I should get in contact with to give me some idea of job opportunities?
    I would be very grateful for any information!
    Thank you!
    Sophie