Thread: Australia PR wants to travel to NZ, a question about visa

Question Australia PR wants to travel to NZ, a question about visa

Hi everybody.

Sorry about the long post in advance...

I am a permanent resident of Australia, landed in Australia 4.5 years ago to activate my AUS PR visa (skilled migrant scheme), but I returned to my home country soon after that.

I came back to Australia one month ago - this time to stay - and obviously started looking for jobs which resulted in an interview for a very good job in NZ.

I know I will be granted NZ PR visa upon my arrival in NZ. I also realise that if I don’t stay in OZ, I will lose my PR status as I have not been in Australia long enough to get a Resident Return Visa. To me, Aus and NZ both are lovely countries and in fact, I don’t mind losing my PR status in Australia if I become sure that my NZ PR status will remain intact after losing Aus PR.

The questions are:

1- Will the validity of my NZ resident visa have anything to do with the validity of my AUS PR visa whatsoever? In other words, I wonder if my NZ resident visa validity will be totally independent of my Aus PR visa validity once the NZ resident visa is issued.

2- Will the NZ immigration give me a Resident Visa with 24 months variation of travel conditions? Or will they give me a resident visa which expires anytime I leave New Zealand? (i.e. without any variation of travel conditions)

Thank you for your time.

Hello and welcome.

We have several members who have come to NZ from Australia, so I think you may get some useful knowledge from them once they've seen your post. If not, you could put your specific question to Immigration NZ, by way of the 'contact us' page on their website - they answer within four days, normally.

I'm pretty sure that your NZ PR would be totally dependent on your Aussie PR remaining intact *and* eligibility for an Aussie RRV, I'm afraid, but INZ will be the best people to confirm.

From the INZ Knowledge Base (my emphasis):