Thread: Moving cats

Default Moving cats

Hi,
    I'm new to the bulletin, and was wondering if we moved what options we have with regards to our cats. We have 2 young cats, Sid and Saffy who are very much part of our family and we couldn't imagine leaving them behind. How much would it cost to bring them and how long would they be quarantined for?

Does anyone have success stories with relocating their pets and how they did it? Would appreciate any feedback!

Gingerale x

Yes, yes, yes, there are lots of stories of successful pet transport, and many forum members will well relate to your feelings. Use of the Search button on the blue bar above will bring up some old threads with details. And you'll be happy to know there is NO quarantine requirement for a cat from the UK arriving in NZ.

In the UK, some quite near neighbours of ours with family in both countries have a Siamese cat who has been to and from NZ just as many times as I have, if not once more...

Hi again!

We brought our 12 year old Jack Russell and 14 year old cat with us last year. They both travelled exceptionally well. Our cat has IBD and there had been queries about whether she would be fit enough to come, but she rallied and is still here 12+ months later, although has bouts of ill health.

Both went into kennels the weekend before our packers arrived, and were housed by Golden Arrow for about 28 days before flying. Golden Arrow took care of all their tests for us, and they arrived in good shape a week and a half after us. It cost us just over £2k for the priviledge, but it was well worth it. As JandM has said there is no quarantine, you pick them up from the airport. There are a number of tests before travelling but although I was worried I was told that it is very rare for a UK based animal to have any problems with these. They also need wormed and flea treatment prior to travel.

GOod Luck.