Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Partner from Romania

Question Partner from Romania

Hi guys, I have an urgent question:

I have a long term partner, we have known each other since May 2010.
    We have been exchanging emails, phone calls and even handwritten letters for months.

Recently I went to see her for just under a month - we had a great time and took a lot of pictures.

I have been trying to find ways to bring her to New Zealand - I am a permanent resident and I desperatley want her here! we are in love and I want her here.

Can people give me options and help please, please, please! I have been in contact with the immigration office and they said the best way to get her in is to first get a visitor visa but to hide the fact she is coming in to New Zealand to be with me - I don't really like this idea because it means she would have to be lying....neither of us like it.

The other option is that we can try to get a partner-visitor visa but for this to happen we need to have a 'genuine and stable' relationship...which is about 1 year together...which obviously we do not have although we do have nearly a years worth of emails, letters and even photographs of when we were together.

Please, can anyone give me some help?
    What do you recommend? Should we go for the visitor-partner visa? what is our best option? is there another visa out there that could work?

Thank you all in advance

Hi! She can be a visitor without a visa, as Romania is visa-free:
    http://glossary.immigration.govt.nz/...ecountries.htm
    She needs to show NZ$1000/month if she does not show arrangements for accommodation or in your case NZ$400/month of stay. Once in NZ if you think it is a good option you can marry (or get a civil union) and then you can apply for her as a spouse. She can be upfront with the immigrations officer when she comes to visit to say that she is visiting her fiance. I doubt that she will have any problems entering the country.