Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New Zealand Teaching Council

Default New Zealand Teaching Council

Hello!

This is my first post since joining and it's been great reading some of your posts and about your experiences.

I'm currently applying for PR with my family and have almost come to the end of compiling what feels like an endless mountain of documents and just wondered if anyone could help with a little query?

I'm waiting for my NZQA assessment, and as a teacher I now have to apply for registration with the NZ Teaching Council. I read it can take anywhere from between 4-6 weeks to process the application, and I'm panicking as my deadline is the 21st April. Has anyone recently applied for the same thing, and if so, what was/ has been your experience?

Also, as I'm cutting it quite fine, do you think INZ would accept an email from the NZTC as proof of registration?

Hoping to hear from anyone soon! Many thanks!

Hello and welcome.

I'm a little rusty but...

when I applied for my NZTC I had applied for the NZQA at the same time.
    Originals to NZQA and copies to NZTC
    NZQA contacted NZTC and told them it was all OK from their end

all in all NZTC took around 4 weeks (my memory is struggling to be exact) NZQA took longer as I had applied at a peak time (Sept/Oct)

HTH

My hubby took about 2 months even though it was supposedly on the fast-track as they went to double, triple-checked all his qualifications to ensure he was of the level requirements stated.

NZTC took less than 1 month to confirm his registration though. NZQA is notorious for being slow unless you have straightforward NZ qualifications.

So you might need to push them if you are on a tight schedule especially if you already accepted a job offer.

Hi,

We sent in both applications at the same time, then when NZQA had finished their assessment, they automatically sent a copy of their report to the NZTC so that they could finish their registration.