Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Double Entry in LTSSL

Default Double Entry in LTSSL

Hi all

The occupation/code for me based on my education and experience would be Electronics Engineer (233411). Interestingly, in the latest LTSSL this code appears twice. First time it appears in occupational group 'Engineering' and second time in occupation group 'ICT, Electronics and Telecommunications'. To claim bonus points for qualification, the first entry requires a Washington Accord accredited Bachelors degree in Engineering while the second entry does not require Washington accord accreditation (it does require 3 years of work experience which is not the problem for me).

I have a Bachelors degree in Electronic Engineering from Pakistan (not Washington Accord accredited) and a Masters in Engineering from the US (again Washington Accord does not apply to Masters degree) with 8+ years of relevant experience. My question is can I claim the bonus points for work experience and possibly for qualification in an area of absolute skills shortage?
    If I claim my occupation to be Electronics Engineer (233411), can I get away with the requirements specified in second entry?

Secondly, would I need my Bachelors degree assessed by NZQA? My Masters (also in Electronic Engineering) is listed as exempt.
    Last edited by bmasood; 3rd April 2011 at 10:54 PM.

I had same problem..and I emailed to NZ ..What they reply is as under

Thank you for contacting us.

It is not vitally important that the job titles are exactly the same.

The most important thing is that you are doing the same duties as that occupation.

The best peice of advice I could give you is to check that occupation through the ANZSCO search function, below I have provided a link to this function.

http://www.abs.gov.au/ausstats/abs@.nsf/Latestproducts/1220.0Search0First%20Edition,%20Revision%201?opend ocument&tabname=Summary&prodno=1220.0&issue=First% 20Edition,%20Revision%201&num=&view=