Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Moving to NZ from Greece

Smile Moving to NZ from Greece

Hi,

My name is Antonio. I am from Spain, but actually living in Greece. My girlfriend and me want to move to NZ for better opportunities and also because we love the country.

My girlfriend is a psychologist and is going to apply for the registration on the Psychologist Board and maybe she can find a job in Invercargill. She can easily get the PR if everything is going well.

Our question is about the best way for me to go to NZ with her. I am a computer engineer (university degree from Spain) with 7 years working experience as a System Administrator, but also with knowledge in Java, C/C++, .NET and databases. I think I am elegible for a Skilled Migrant Visa. But we are wondering, if she would get a job there, how can I apply to get the PR?. We are together for almost 2 years, but only living together for 1 month.

We are also considering to ask for an official immigration adviser, does anybody recommend us this option? Also I would like to ask about the ICT market in Invercargill. I know that there are not so many IT companies there and I have been searching in seek and trademe and only few positions I have found.

Thank you very much for your time!

Antonio.

Have a look at this recent thread. http://www.enz.org/forum/archive/index.php/t-33585.html

JoJo mentions there a fairly new law, where you may be able to be added into your partner's EOI. And if that doesn't work, go to the links that I give in my post on that thread, as you will be able to use that route (temporary work visa sponsored by your partner, to allow you to build up the 12 months' evidence).

Thank you very much for your prompt reply, it is really useful. We are going to study that option.

I'm glad if it helps you.