Thread: Abit of advice

Default Abit of advice

Hi Everyone, just after abit of advice really. I'm 21 living in the UK at the moment, but I'm hoping to do abit of long term traveling next year, and if it works out stay long term and emigrate to NZ. Kind of want to leave the sinking ship while I can!*I spent 3 weeks in NZ last November with my girl friend, traveling in a camper van, we loved everything about NZ! *

I work as a Jetty Man as my main job. It involves bringing in ships, tying them up, and staying with them while they pump their cargo (all liquid, from petrol to chemicals). I have no qualifications for this, just experience.*
    I also work as a volunteer Police Officer (Special Constable). I hold fully powers of arrest like the regular police, I just don't get paid.

I'm after a bit of advice as to what trade may help me find a job. I'm in a position were I can afford to gain some more qualifications before I come over. I've been looking at plumbing courses or carpet fitting? I don't know what would help me the most?

I can also get my gliding instructors licence quite rapidly if this would help me at all? My ambition is to become a pilot, I've been looking into the possibility of gaining my commercial pilots licence, but at the moment I can't see any job prospects here in the UK or in NZ, that would pay off the loan I'd take out to gain the licence! Any help and advice would be much appreciated! Matt.

Hello and welcome.

Have a look on the Immigration NZ website, at the lists of skills that are in demand, and see if there's something there that you would be interested in training for. If you notice the qualifications that NZ asks for for your chosen career, you can be sure the training you do will fit their requirements.

This link may help get you started. http://www.immigration.govt.nz/migra...ls.htm?level=3