Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Residency through partnership?

Default Residency through partnership?

Hello,

My partner is a NZ resident and Im english. We have been together for over 2 years and now my working holiday visa is running out in august this year. We are going to apply for a defacto visa to get an extension for me which we definitely qualify for.

I was just wondering if anybody knows what you need to qualify for residency off of a partnership?

I need and want to study but I cant afford to do it in NZ unless I am a resident due to the ridiculous international fees.

Any info would be awesome

thanks,

As far as I remember you only need to be with your partner a year. He then sponsors you.

You will need to do medicals and police checks (both of you for the Police certs).
    You also need to supply a whole lot of proof to your partnership - joint bills, tenancy agreements, joint accounts etc over the period of your partnership..

Check this link out, and then follow the other links for there in relation to exactly what is needed..

http://www.immigration.govt.nz/migra...er/default.htm

Quote Originally Posted by mosanna View Post
    My partner is a NZ resident and Im english. We have been together for over 2 years and now my working holiday visa is running out in august this year.
    Partnership generally requires having lived together for 12 months.
    Else follow the links as NAP wrote, both within this forum and of INZ.

Hi there
    Similar situation to me only we applied for residency before arriving in NZ. I'm also British and my husband a kiwi, our daughter has NZ citizenship and i'm also studying
    Pretty much the above answer was how we did it.