Thread: Ltssl and SMC

Question Ltssl and SMC

HI,

I'm currently a Web Developer, which is on the LTSSL. I have been offered a job as Web Developer by a firm based in Auckland. The LTSSL says you should have a bachelors degree, however I contacted immigration and explained that I instead have 4 1/2 years experience in the role and am a member of the Guild of Accessible Web Designers and AccreditUK certified. The initial email I got back said

"It is still possible to consider yourself nder the skilled migrant category even if you do not have the bachelors degree. I presume that you are looking at the skilled migrant category.

You just would not be able to claim the long term skills shortage list bonus points.

Most occupations in this unit group have a level of skill commensurate with a bachelor degree or higher qualification. At least five years of relevant experience and/or relevant vendor certification may substitute for the formal qualification. In some instances relevant experience and/or on-the-job training may be required in addition to the formal qualification (ANZSCO Skill Level 1)."

Which I took to mean that I could apply for SMC. But being cautious and not wanting to mess my chances up I emailed again to clarify and was told

"Yes it is correct, as per the ANZSCO list you can claim points for skilled employment with five years of work experience relevant.

However you will not be able to claim points for having a qualification or any bonus points for the job being on the long term skills shortage list.