Thread: Qualified......by Experience!

Default Qualified......by Experience!

On the One Hand:

I've never studied, and don't really have much in the way of school qualifications either, however over here in the UK, I have built up 15 years of accountancy experience which has always got me pretty well paid temp/permanent work and once I get a position I'm usually retained for much longer than the original contract, so I know I'm good at what I do (8 years with American Express, 2 years with the NHS, so not all small companies either). I've even been taken on for jobs over qualified applicants at qualified rates of pay, and have never been out of work unless I've chosen to be.

I strongly suspect that all of this will amount to sweet FA over in New Zealand!!!

Any thoughts on the above??

On the other hand:

The reason I have never studied is that I don't really want to be an accountant for the rest of my life so starting from scratch opens up a whole new world of possibilities that excites me greatly!!

Quote Originally Posted by Chedward View Post
    On the One Hand:

I strongly suspect that all of this will amount to sweet FA over in New Zealand!!!

Any thoughts on the above??
    It may mean a lot to employers in NZ (my own experience suggests that Kiwi employers will take your word for it and give you a chance) but it will definitely mean sweet FA to INZ!

HOWEVER, since you're going for partner-sponsored Residence, INZ only need to check out your health and the fact that you are in a provable partnership. So you can take your choice between convincing NZ employers wanting an accountant with your efficiency, charm and UK references, and finding that interesting new direction.

Phew.