Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Christchurch or Hamilton?

Default Christchurch or Hamilton?

I would be very interested to read your views on these locations please.

It would be great if people living in either place could tell me about:

The weather .. I can look it up .. but it'd be better from 'the horse's mouth'.

Job opportunities .. I'm a nurse .. OH's in management ..

Teenagers .. things to do, places to go ..

Crime ..

.. Anything really .. thanks ..

Jeez, am probably throwing Tauranga into the mix now too.

Any info gratefully received .. thanks

Quote Originally Posted by MetalSoul View Post
    I would be very interested to read your views on these locations please.

It would be great if people living in either place could tell me about:

The weather .. I can look it up .. but it'd be better from 'the horse's mouth'.

Job opportunities .. I'm a nurse .. OH's in management ..

Teenagers .. things to do, places to go ..

Crime ..

.. Anything really .. thanks ..
    Hamilton:
    Weather- long humid summers and short wet winters. Autumn is the best season here and is wonderful. Weather significantly better than Blighty but not the best weather in NZ.
    Job ops- not sure what field of nursing you're in but Waikato hospital is one of the (if not the) biggest hospitals in NZ. We also found them good to negotiate with for relocation costs etc http://www.waikatodhb.govt.nz/jobs.aspx
    Teenagers- it could be worse here but it could be better. I think it would be better than Chch (without factoring in the EQ damage/implications because I'm not there) in terms of being close to Auckland and NI's attractions and variety because Chch is pretty isolated, but Chch is bigger. It is probably on a par with Tauranga, though if you live there they can access the ocean and surf life saving etc. Tauranga housing costs are higher than Hams, if that's a consideration.