Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Working as doctor... - where?

Default Working as doctor... - where?

Hi!

I am a Swedish doctor (as seen on my signature) and mother of three children (5,5 and 6 years old). My husband is also a dr but in another speciality than me. We are seriously thinking of moving to NZ for a year or two and have been in contact with a recruitment firm that has given us a couple of offers. The problem is that we do not know enough of the alternatives to make a proper decision.
    Now that I´ve been browsing this forum I realize that you all have a lot more information to give me than the firm. We haven´t got personal experience of NZ but after having done our homework in reading books and scanning the net, I think I´ve got a pretty good overlook of the differences between the North and the South Island, the bigger cities and the smaller ones. Through reading that is. All the "soft" knowledge is what I hope to be getting from you.
    So my questions are:
    1) Does anyone have experience in working at the hospital of Dunedin? Or visiting it? Please tell me your spontaneous comments!
    2) Same question but for the hospital of Tauranga
    3) Does anyone have a good suggestion of a nice hospital to be working in? I´m an anaesthetist and I´d like to work in a stimulating surrounding with interesting and skilled collegues (nurses as well as doctors). The size of the hospital is of no importance, be it university-big or a rural-small. I have worked in both and liked it!

I am very very grateful for any answers you can give me. We´re really starting from zero here

Thank´s beforehand!

Quote Originally Posted by Swedish doctor View Post
    1) Does anyone have experience in working at the hospital of Dunedin? Or visiting it? Please tell me your spontaneous comments!
    Hello and welcome!

I have been a patient in both hospitals Dunedin Public and Mercy. I had surgeries in both of them over the last four years.