Thread: Degree and work experience don't exactly match

Question Degree and work experience don't exactly match

I'm a newbie here--just posted an intro thread as well.

We are planning to file an EOI for my husband, since he has more recent relevant work experience than me.

We both have degrees in Electronics, granted in 1985. But apart from my one year as a hardware engineer, we've worked in the software side ever since. The Electronics degree included a couple of software components, and was definitely the springboard to our careers, but it was definitely not at its core a software degree.

Both Electronic Engineering and IT are shortage areas. The degree led directly to software work. But the EOI form makes it sound like the qualification and the work experience must exactly match. Is that true? Bummer if it is, since I think that would then drop us below a decent score without an actual job offer in place. (Which I realize might be moot anyway, if the changes in regulations mean that we have to have a job offer in order to have much of a chance of a visa.)

Hi there,

This isn't exactly the same situation but when we entered our EOI a couple of months ago we had points deducted as my husbands degree was in computational physics and INZ were very strict that it had to be computer science. We appealed but despite my husband studying computer science as a large part of the degree and that computational physics is a sub-field of computer science, they upheld their decision. It meant we weren't eligible for the points for his 8 years work experience either as it had to be linked to a computer science or information technology degree. We've now fallen way below the points we need so our only hope is a job offer - not easy with no visa.