Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 42

Thread: US electrical adapters??? its still a fog

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Wa. US
    Posts
    197

    Default US electrical adapters??? its still a fog

    I have read a number of threads, that deal with the elctrical issue, but it is still a bit of a fog. What will I need to make my electronics work. understand most of my computers have a switch power supply, and all i need is a plug adpater, But if we were to say bring our refirgerator and other like appliances, what would i need to make that work? Or is it even worth it..... ? I'm looking for web sites that sell the devices for power converting. thanks for your help. I am also wanting something that combines a surge protector into it.

    Well our phones work in New Zealand? we just bought a new set of phones.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Wa. US
    Posts
    197

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    California to Windy Wellington
    Posts
    148

    Default

    one thing to know about cell phones, you have to make sure they have the right frequencies to work in other countries. as well as you need to unlock them. usually isn't too hard, as long as your carrier will give up the code. (there are also other ways to unlock but im sure you can check it out for your phone)

    As you have found probably by the other thread, most people say it's not worth bringing anything over that you have to buy a converter for. We are ditching all of our 110 only stuff, and going to rebuy it over there.

    The one thing i am bummed about is our vacuum, dang dysons are like $800 over there.

    Anyway good luck with it all!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by WANZLittles View Post
    Well our phones work in New Zealand? we just bought a new set of phones.
    only if those are GSM phones, often called world phones in the US.
    And as thedans already said, you need to be able to unlock them in order to put new SIM cards in.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    NZ to US to NZ. Opua
    Posts
    1,470

    Default

    It is my understanding that U.S. landline phones (not cells) will work in NZ but if they are cordless and have a plug, then the rules apply for 110/220. If your phones are both 110/220 (like computers) then you just need a electrical plug adapter.

    Correct me if I'm wrong!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Wa. US
    Posts
    197

    Default

    Yeah I meant landline for phones, we had just planned getting new cell phones in NZ, I think we will do transformers/plug adapters for most of our electronics and everyday plug in stuff, but will plan on buying major appliances in NZ. thanks for the replys.

  7. #7
    Manks's Avatar
    Manks is offline Serial procrastinator and general busybody
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    UK->CT, USA->Wellington, NZ
    Posts
    1,853

    Default

    The phone line "plug" is different here to the US, but it's the same or similar to the UK. That may cause you issues with phone lines.

    I would suggest that refrigerators, washing machines and dryers could cause problems on the NZ electricity supply. I wouldn't want to bring them, even with a power down transformer. We had lots of UK electricals on power up transformers in the US, but they were just small devices. No major appliances.

    Our UK Dyson fried one transformer on the one attempt hubby made to use that!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    98

    Default

    Vacuum cleaners are difficult to import anyway. You have to declare them and they will be very thoroughly inspected for the smallest sign of dirt.

  9. #9
    Manks's Avatar
    Manks is offline Serial procrastinator and general busybody
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    UK->CT, USA->Wellington, NZ
    Posts
    1,853

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BigRed View Post
    Vacuum cleaners are difficult to import anyway. You have to declare them and they will be very thoroughly inspected for the smallest sign of dirt.
    We brought our Dyson in with us. We cleaned it well, but not insanely, and yes, it was inspected. But so were a bunch of other things. MAF were very happy with everything.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    36,400

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Manks View Post
    We brought our Dyson in with us. We cleaned it well, but not insanely, and yes, it was inspected. But so were a bunch of other things. MAF were very happy with everything.
    A lot of other members have imported their vacuum cleaners, too.

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •