Thread: Wine related jobs? (Sommelier)

Default Wine related jobs? (Sommelier)

I am 29 years old and from the end of January I will go to New Zealand (Auckland) to attend a 12 weeks full-time sommelier course (recognized by the New Zealand Qualifications Authority) while on a working holiday.
    I already have a good wine knowledge, but no experience in the hospitality sector (I am working as a software programmer in Japan, but my degree is on Japanese Language... yeah I like to vary lol).

In the end I would like to try to reside in New Zealand working as a sommelier (or anyway having a wine related job).

I don't mind getting "dirty", I don't mind low salary (at least at the beginning), I am determined, but my age and lack of experience worry me a bit.
    Even if I successfully complete the course I am afraid I won't find a job to remain in NZ.

So how is the wine and hospitality sector faring in New Zealand? Do you think that there are still chances? Any advice is welcome!

Hello and welcome.

Quote Originally Posted by Welleran View Post
    I am 29 years old and from the end of January I will go to New Zealand (Auckland) to attend a 12 weeks full-time sommelier course (recognized by the New Zealand Qualifications Authority) while on a working holiday.
    I already have a good wine knowledge, but no experience in the hospitality sector (I am working as a software programmer in Japan, but my degree is on Japanese Language... yeah I like to vary lol).

In the end I would like to try to reside in New Zealand working as a sommelier (or anyway having a wine related job).

I don't mind getting "dirty", I don't mind low salary (at least at the beginning), I am determined, but my age and lack of experience worry me a bit.
    Even if I successfully complete the course I am afraid I won't find a job to remain in NZ.

So how is the wine and hospitality sector faring in New Zealand? Do you think that there are still chances? Any advice is welcome!