Thread: Getting job prior to getting NZ residence

Exclamation Getting job prior to getting NZ residence

Hi all

Advice needed

NZ Immigration say that my application have been queued up, if I get a job, I should let them know and they will pace up application processing.

I have been applying for jobs in NZ for two months. Recruiters reply that to have NZ job, one should have right to work in NZ (which I can't get until my application is processed, I get interviewed ... and receive the blue stickers....)

So technically speaking, Job hunting prior to getting Blue stickers ain't a fruitful exercise????

Regards
    Last edited by Ace Khalid; 10th November 2011 at 08:09 PM. Reason: changing email notification

It is difficult to find a job especially if you dont have the visa in place ...........think I have under estimated this, as first time round it was relatively simple!
    Can only suggest you keep going I have been looking for work so we can return on and off .........since returning to the UK and thats a VERY long time........
    Good luck with your searches

It's difficult, but some people have managed it. Often, they've had better luck by going to NZ on a recce trip, having made contact with potential employers and agencies first, so they show they're serious about making the move, and they are there to be interviewed face to face.

Manks is offline Serial procrastinator and general busybody

It is very hard task, but not impossible. The challenge you have is that you're not even in country, so that won't even get you past most HR cuts. the economy is tight here and employers are risk averse.

All I can say is persevere. Or be patient until your residency is approved and you can start planning your move and communicating those firm plans to prospective employers.

Success rate may not be good but its not totally negative, keep applying and just remember all you need is just one hit! All the best

Quote Originally Posted by JandM View Post