Thread: Is it worth it?

Default Is it worth it?

Hi! I'm currently a university student in Canada and have been thinking a lot about what I'm going to do in the future. I really want to go into teaching but I;m not a 100% sure where I want to live yet. One possibility I was considering was doing my graduate degree in NZ and possibly eventually working/living there, at least for a couple years maybe. I was just wondering if it's worth it though because it's so costly? I come from a pretty poor background but because I wouldn't be leaving for another couple years anyway I have a good amount of time to save and student loans will cover most of my tuition. I also don't need a lot of personal money to make me happy, as long as the weather's fine and I'm not starving to death life is good lol

Hello and welcome.

'Is it worth it?' Um, worth is something we all decide for ourselves, so the decision will have to be yours. Any higher education, particularly undertaken outside your home country, is expensive, so you have to balance that against what you hope to gain from it in terms of special experiences, knowledge and living in a certain part of the world. If you think your life will be better for doing those things AT ALL, then you're at the next stage of thinking if a particular university in a particular country has a good likelihood of delivering what is important to you.

So, in detail, what do you like to do? What made you think of NZ in the first place?