Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: .... I realise its been over five years now :)

Default .... I realise its been over five years now :)

OK,

I don't post much on here these days, but after catching our first fish with my 3 year old son from Petone Wharf today it caused me to reflect on just how much things have changed......

I was a Senior Lecturer (Engineering / Physics) at one of the major UK Postgraduate Universities and Jade worked in the Civil Service (policy) six years ago back when the Govt in the UK were making massive redundancies in that sector, and walked in with a flyer from the NZ Civil Service that had made the rounds through the Whitehall Pubs. After a short '..Are you considering it dear?' we said why not and started an EOI. We looked at the PR application paperwork and decided it was far simpler than most grant applications and we could easily do that ourselves and went the 'DIY' route to applying for PR. I went as principal applicant and got 160 points for the application which we lodged in June 2006.

We planned to sell the house privately (we had a buyer) and come over to NZ and have a long holiday and then look for work in Wellington. All did not quite work to plan;
    1. Even on a private house sale, the lawyers can make a dogs dinner of the process in the UK (in fact it dragged on until November)
    2. I got interviewed and offered a Research position in September with an October Start in NZ
    3. Because of 1 and 2 we had no big holiday, and I had to come out six weeks ahead of Jade with our 14 year old cat!

I started work in October with an incredibly well educated, multi-national, and diverse team. (2/3 staff have PhD's and 50% from overseas, with staff of ~ 400). The work was challenging and stimulating.

Jade came over in November, and was being requested for interview almost as soon as she stepped off the plane; in fact she had 3 decent job offers within two weeks of arrival.

..... over the last five years everything has changed;