Thread: Credit Risk, SAS Programming/Analyst Jobs?

Default Credit Risk, SAS Programming/Analyst Jobs?

Hi there,
    I've been lurking on these boards for a while and was wondering if there are any Credit Risk Analysts out there? Has anyone got any experience in getting a job in this field?

I have a degree in Stats and 4 years Credit Risk experience plus an extra year working as a Business Analyst (basically MI reporting) most of this experience has been in the Financial Services sector.

There always seems to be jobs on Seek posted by agencies, which is a positive sign; however i'm well aware that it's no indication that I would find it easy to get a job in NZ.

I'm just at the thinking stage at the moment, but i am seriously thinking about the Silver Fern Search visa (if i'm lucky enough to get one). Would i be crazy to give up a good job in the UK, or would 9 months be long enough to find a job in this field?

All info greatly appreciated!
    Thanks

Hello and welcome.

Hello and welcome . Yes, I have come across couple of big companies which use SAS - so yes prospects look quite good in that area. Leaving good job in UK and searching for new one in NZ will definitely be a risk on your part. Have you thought of WHV or doing a job recce?

Thanks for the replies!
    I haven't considered a job recce, although i don't have the holidays to take the time off work this year, so that would push the move back by 1 year.
    The WHV scares me a little! You can only work for 1 employer for 6 months max (is this still true?) My job role tends to come up in big organisations which in my experience are not flexible on their policies regarding foreign workers/sponsorships etc...I can't see them wanting to offer me a role when there is the possibility that I will only be there for 6 months.
    This is how i concluded that the silver fern visa is the only realistic option for me. Would love to hear if anyone disagrees on my outlook!