Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Degree's & Certificates & NZQA

Default Degree's & Certificates & NZQA

Hey peeps. Alan here from Malaysia.

The wife & I decided we like NewZealand and it would be smashing if we could get ourselves over there. But like many people before us, we hit a snag on the long and winding road to immigration. It looks like we'll get shot-down at NZQA stage even before we get our EOI submitted :~(

Anyway, here's how it goes:

Background:
    I'm an IT graduate with 6 yrs experience & my wife is a graduate too. Both of us have degree certs. EOI after self-evaluation is 140. I have not submitted my EOI yet, as I want to ensure that my qualifications is recognized by NZQA. So I pack all my certs & fly them over to NZQA for assessment. Currently, NZQA is having trouble assessing my docs.

IT Degree: (Nottingham Trent U)
    - studied in Malaysia, but degree awarded from UK
    - degree is not recognized by Malaysian govt, but is recognized by UK govt (explicitly stated on University website & confirmed via email correspondence with UK staff)
    - degree duration was 2 years, as I already have a professional certificate

IT Professional Certificate (NIIT)
    - studied in Malaysia, but awarded from India
    - the award says Professional Diploma, but somehow I think its just a professional certificate
    - again, the certificate is not recognized by Malaysian govt, but it was accepted by the UK university for enrollment into their degree program (they have mentioned this under APL, Accreditation of prior learning)
    - professional course duration was 2 years
    - the awarding institute in India can validate the cert, but as of yet they have not replied if the cert was recognized in india or not

NZQA Response
    They will not be able to assess unless they get accreditation info from Malaysia. I have already contacted the relevant parties and this will not be possible as Malaysia does not recognize the qualifications.