Thread: Teacher advice needed!

Default Teacher advice needed!

Hi guys, I hope you can help. I completed my teacher training through a SCITT in the South West. I have now been informed that this may not be accepted in NZ for assessment/registration purposes. Obviously this would be of great disappointment for me! I have a PGCE after completing a Business (Hons) degree and I am currently half way through a MEd. I have been teaching for 2 years and therefore completed my NQT.

If anyone could shed some light on this it would be appreciated as I haven't found any literature stating what exactly does and doesn't qualify. I am a bit confused as I didn't complete a GTP, I completed an academic qualification with my QTS.

I hope some one can help!

Probably the most authoritative answer you could get would be from the NZTC. http://www.teacherscouncil.govt.nz/contact.stm I hear they're very human and helpful.

Thanks JandM I've just emailed them!

The only thing I'll add is: they are helpful, BUT sometimes they are not as clear as they could be in explaining what they want / have decided. I sent lots of emails back and forth asking (politely) for clarification- don't be afraid to do this...

Ta,

Eliot

Hi, Delta,

Guess you're a teacher so? I can get work short term via the LAT scheme as I don't have NZQA done yet. along with police clearance is there much more docs that you required?
    also what is CO Assigned in your list above?
    ta
    beadyeyes

I can get work short term via the LAT scheme
    Are you sure about that?

The Council will not grant an authority to any person who is already eligible for registration; they would need to go through the normal registration process.
    http://www.teacherscouncil.govt.nz/prof/lat.stm

And
    19. A person is NOT eligible to apply for a LAT if any of the following apply:
    • s/he is to fulfil a role not defined as a teaching position
    • the position is sole charge