Thread: Overseas: Needing Job Advice

Default Overseas: Needing Job Advice

Hi Everyone. I'm Tom and I'm from the Washington DC area. I'm 24, I have my Bachelors Degree in Business, and I'm currently in a part-time MBA program online. I also have about 4 years of work experience in IT and Business Marketing. I would like to start working/living in NZ in January 2013(preferably Auckland or Christchurch). My age, degree, and work experience gives me 105 points in the Skilled Migrant Category, well short of the 140 for the invitation to apply. I have not done my EOI yet, because I assume it won't be selected with my point total. I assumed that if I could get a job offer, I'd kill two birds with one stone because it'd give me 50 extra points to push me over the 140 mark, and I'd be moving to NZ with a job already lined up.

Here's my dilemma: I've heard it's difficult to find a job in NZ while physically being overseas because employers won't take you seriously unless you're already in New Zealand. However it's much smarter when moving to a new location to have a job already lined up, versus moving somewhere and then risk not getting a job offer. I want to have a job in hand before I move.

Can anyone help me with some recommendations as to what I should do? I feel that my qualifications would definitely land a job, but how can I get employers to look at me seriously since I'm not in NZ yet? Are there any NZ sites/companies that specifically recruit Americans? I'm in Washington DC so maybe the embassy could offer me some advice as well? Also, if I want a job in January, when should I start applying?

Any help would be appreciated whether it be from Americans who have moved to New Zealand, or anyone that's had similar circumstances to me.
    Thanks,
    -Tom
    Last edited by TommyNZ; 28th June 2012 at 05:25 AM.

Hi Tom,