Thread: ANZSCO "core tasks" question

Default ANZSCO "core tasks" question

Hi!

No idea if anyone can help but thought is worth asking.

Does anyone know what the "core tasks" of each occupation are on the ANZSCO list? This question is not quite as a stupid as it sounds, I'm aware what a "core task" is in principle.

The reason I ask is that my occupation is quite specific - for my sins I’m a tax accountant (yes, I know ). The ANZSCO code for my occupation is 221113 and it is listed on a single page under "UNIT GROUP 2211 ACCOUNTANTS". Below the heading is states "tasks include" and lists about 10 points. Below this it lists 3 "Occupations": 221111 Accountant (General), 221112 Management Accountant, 221113 Taxation Accountant - each of which has a short paragraph describing the occupation and duties undertaken but no specific heading of "tasks".

The thing is that of the 10 or so tasks listed under "tasks" for 2211 ACCOUNTANTS I do very few as I would basically need a 50 hour working day to fit all of that in. Conversely, the duties described under the "221113 Taxation Accountant" bit on the same page describes very accurately what I do.

My question is whether I only need to evidence that I undertake the tasks listed for my specific 'occupation' or whether I need to also evidence that I carry out the majority of the tasks listed under 2211 ACCOUNTANTS?

I notice that as you drill down though the levels, there is a list of "tasks include" for each sub-level which presumably they do not expect people to satisfy as they are too far removed from the actual occupation.

Anyway, if anyone can shed any light I would be very grateful.

Thanks!