Thread: Build your own - pitfalls & what to look out for.

Default Build your own - pitfalls & what to look out for.

When we return to NZ OH & I are seriously considering getting our own house built. Unfortunately we are complete novices in this area - neither of us has any building experience at all so we would be at the mercy of the builders. So I was hoping to pick the brains of those who have built or are in the process of building or researching a build.

For us would it be better for us to opt for a house & land package or buy the land separately and then employ a builder to build?

What extra's would we need to look out for? We have looked at prices of sections for sale and looked at plans of houses by builders such as Golden Homes & Peter Ray. We have also considered A1 homes. The plans carry a price but what hidden costs are we likely to encounter?

Would the builders deal with all the legal things such as land titles? Would they prepare the land or is that something we have to do?

Does anyone know of a reputable builder in the Chch area we could contact or are there any builders n the forum who would consider taking on a project like this in 2014? Any help, advice etc... greatly appreciated.

At the moment in the Christchurch area you would probably need to use one of the larger builders who sells home and land packages purely so you can get insurance afterwards. While some of the smaller builders carry contractors insurance some do not. A colleague is currently getting ready to build out on Banks and he has already had to discount one builder with a very good reputation as he does not carry insurance.

Hopefully by 2014 the insurance market will have eased but I recommend that you check this area thoroughly with suggestions others may have.