Thread: Work Permit then PR or PR directly?

Default Work Permit then PR or PR directly?

Hi all,

I have been following this forum for a couple of weeks and would like to thank you guys for the efforts you are doing for those immigrating to New Zealand. I decided to register and see if anyone can provide an answer to my question below:

I am an Egyptian (hence the name ) and I am seriously considering migrating to New Zealand. I have reviewed the official NZ immigration website and I am familiar with the different options for migration. My specific problem is that my qualifications are not related to my work experience. I have more than 13 years in IT industry, however my degree is in Accounting (Bachelors degree in Accounting). I have two options to get to New Zealand and each one of them has its pros and cons.

First Option:
    1. Wait to get a permanent job offer.
    2. Apply for a work permit visa.
    3. Get to New Zealand and after sometime apply for Permanent Residency.

Pros:
    1. The fastest way to get into New Zealand seeing my skills are in the shortage list.
    2. It is more convenient to know that I already have a job before I even go to New Zealand.

Cons:
    1. It will take more time to apply for Permanent Residency and citizenship afterwards. ===>>> Does anyone know how soon one could apply to PR after he/she has been working for in New Zealand?
    2. It would cost more (I think).

Second Option:
    1. Apply for Skilled Migrant category (not sure how this will go since my qualifications are different than my job experience).
    2. Get to New Zealand and start looking for a job.

Pros:
    1. I will be getting Permanent Residency sooner than the first option.
    2. It should cost less (I think).

Cons:
    1. I may end up not beeing selected as a skilled migrant since I don't meet the qualifications requirement.