Thread: How can I find an appropriate job??

Default How can I find an appropriate job??

Hello there,
    I am an Iranian mechanical engineer with about 9 years experience. I am 32. I plan to migrate to New Zealand. At the moment, my point for immigration is 125 and with the point I have to wait in pool list.
    I don't have any job offer now. I've heard that finding a job or getting a job offer is so difficult from overseas. Now, my main concern is finding an appropriate job. But, I don't know if it is possible from overseas or no. What is your opinion? Can I do this? If yes, how???
    Plus, I have a question related to immigration. I got the bonus point of absolute skills shortage. According to http://www.immigration.govt.nz/opsmanual/30554.htm can I get the bonus point of future growth area or no? (Because I have more than 3 years experience in air conditioning and machinery designation).
    Any detailed guide to them will be appreciated.

According to what i have observed from this forum, you always possibility to get a job from overseas. However, the probability of getting the job is less as compared to those who are already in NZ. So keep trying and good luck!

You cannot get points for future growth area but you can have points for absolute skills shortage only.

Hello and welcome.

You can't claim for qualifications or work experience in an identified future growth area without already having a job, or job offer, in NZ, in one of the careers mentioned.

In any case, I don't see how your experience in air conditioning and machinery design would fit into one of the future growth areas mentioned in your link.
    Biotechnology
    Information Communications Technology
    Creative industries (Advertising, Software & Computing Services, Publishing, TV and Radio, Film and Video, Architecture, Design, Designer Fashion, Music and Performing Arts, Visual Arts).