Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Character waiver etc...

Default Character waiver etc...

Hi there,

This is my first time posting on this forum :-)

I am a NZ citizen living in London. I have been with my partner three years; we have a child together. We are about to go through the process of applying for my partner's residency visa, as we plan on moving back home at the end of 2013.

Now, my partner has a criminal history - he has had a number of warnings (sigh) for cannabis possession, the last of which was about four years ago. I know precisely what this means, having done my research. He will require a character waiver. The NZ Immigration website describes this as a 'Special Direction' and from what it says on there, it appears that you need to apply for this *before* actually initiating the process of applying for a visa. However, this seems to contradict some of what I have read on this forum.

I have gotten my information from here: http://www.dol.govt.nz/immigration/k...base/item/1184.

Has anyone gone through this process before? I know that various new rules have recently been implemented, but I am also aware that the phrase 'special direction' has popped up on the website before.

I am really nervous about getting this right. I just want to go home.

The other thing I'm unsure about is whether to apply for the working visa for my partner first, and then go for residency once his two years expires. But then there is no guarantee they will let him stay....

I would appreciate any help/advice anyone has to offer.

Hello and welcome.

You may be getting ahead of yourself. The page you linked to links again to where there is mention of Section 15 and 16 of the Immigration act. Here's their explanation of that.

Summary of Terms
    Sections 15 and 16 of the Immigration Act 2009

Section 15 of the Immigration Act 2009

Under section 15 of the Immigration Act 2009 we will not grant you a visa, entry permission or a visa waiver if: