Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Ideal time to arrive???

Default Ideal time to arrive???

Hi All

I seek the experts' suggestion on when is the ideal time to arrive in NZ? I got my Silver Fern JSV approved and I have to enter NZ before end of January 2013. I am currently serving my 3 months notice period with my employer until last week of October 2012. Is it good to arrive in NZ by November to start my job hunt? I work in the IT industry as Business Support Analyst and Project Coordinator.

Many say that November to January will be dull period for job search as most people will go on summer vacation and Xmas holidays. If that is the case, will there not be more demand during this period to find replacements? Kindly let me know the best time to arrive so that I can use my visa wisely as I will have only 9 months to stay in NZ under this Silver fern visa.

Cheers
    Madhav

If that is the case, will there not be more demand during this period to find replacements?
    No. NZers are accustomed to the fact that businesses and organizations just tick over on skeleton staff over the summer. You can't rely on things picking up, and those responsible enough to hire staff being around consistently once more, until the end of the holidays/new school year, which is around the end of January or beginning of February.

So, arriving in NZ in first week of November is no good time to start with the job search? I have to enter NZ by 31 Jan 2013 as mentioned in my passport.

I'm sure others will have comments, but judging on what we've heard before, I think you'd be INCREDIBLY lucky to land a job in the month or so that is all you would have before the start of the holidays, unless you had an opening with people that were already negotiating before you arrived.