Thread: School decile rating

Default School decile rating

I am a teacher thinking of emmigrating to NZ with my wife (a primary headteacher) and kids aged 8, 11 and 13. Can someone please explain to me how the decile system works - also are school inspection reports available online like they are in the UK? Many thanks, Jon

School inspection reports can be found at www.ero.govt.nz.
    Follow the links on the left, and do a search for the school name.

All state schools are positioned socio-economic decile ranking...there is a bit of witchcraft involved about how they calculate it, but it involves things like average salaries, % welfare registered and the like. 1 is lowest, and 10 is highest. Schools get additional Government funding based on their decile ranking; 1=quite a lot, 10=none at all!
    Schools ranked low can get a bit of a bad press, but I think you need to take each one on its own merits. E.g. a good country school out in the sticks could have a low ranking just because most locals are sheep farmers with low incomes. My brother teaches in a Decile 3 school in Northland, and they get better results than Decile 6 and 7 schools in Whangarei (mind you, the NCEA system makes it very difficult to make comparisons between schools...but that's another story!)

Be warned that it is very difficult to get a primary teaching position in NZ at the moment...lots of locals fighting for fewer jobs (falling primary rolls). But if your wife has experience as a Head, it might make a difference.
    Secondary is much easier, particularly in some areas of the country and for certain subjects.

Graham

Why has there been a shortage at the secondary level? Is it expected to reamin that way for several more years?