Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Visitor Visa Application

Default Visitor Visa Application

Hi there, this is my first time posting in the forum. I am writing regarding a visa application for my girlfriend to come live with me in New Zealand. I think it’s best to describe the whole situation first and then the questions I have regarding the application afterwards:

I’m a New Zealand citizen, and at the start of this year I travelled to the Netherlands on a university exchange for the last semester of my degree. I was staying in a flat with 6 other exchange students. After a week or two I started a relationship with one of my flatmates who is from Spain, so we were living together in a relationship for 5 months, between the start of February through to the end of June this year. Throughout this time we also travelled together to Spain, Germany and Poland. When the university semester ended in June and our rental agreement had expired, we travelled to Spain again together, where I lived with her and her family for 3 weeks. After this, I travelled back to New Zealand at the end of July. I’m currently working in temporary employment that will finish on October 31st, and am booked in to travel back to Spain on November 14th, where I will live with her until my flight home on January 3rd. She will finish her university degree in late January, and travel to New Zealand in February next year to come and live with me here.

I have been on the phone to NZ Immigration several times in the past month and this seems to be the best course of action to take for her to eventually obtain permanent residency here:

1. Apply for a ‘visitor visa under partnership’ (forms 1198 and 1146) when I am living in Spain with her in November this year
    2. Once she is in New Zealand, apply for a ‘work visa under partnership’ so that she can get a job here