Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: considering New Zealand as new home!

Default considering New Zealand as new home!

HI all,
    was wondering if you could offer me some advice.My family are currently living in Ireland but with the economy the way it is at the moment we are barely making ends meet.I am a carpenter by trade but have also just finished my degree.New Zealand looks like it has good prospects for us as jobs in this area are plentiful.I have a few questions mostly about money.Doing my research the average wage is 50-60 thousand dollars which is about 30-40 thousand euros.Which considering the rent in new zealand wont go far.we will also be paying a mortage in Ireland even though its a small mortage(Houses in Ireland not selling).Will we be able to have a comfortable standard of living in New zealand as that is our main reason at looking to relocate. If budget in december is a hard as last few we cant afford to stay but we dont want to jump into an even worse situation.We also would like to know whats a good area for young familys to move too? seems to be a lot of work around christ church area.

Hello and welcome.

Considering that Christchurch is supposedly looking to recruit 36,000 workers and are looking to Ireland (http://www.joe.ie/news-politics/curr...expo-0030410-1)

I would look to make contact with companies in Christchurch and look to set up interviews for yourself. You could end up earning more than $60k and you're problems could be solved. Can you rent your house out in Ireland?

Also, is it worth thinking about you moving here first and your family following at a later stage?