Thread: 2 year work permit expires in Jan 2013, still waiting for PR, should I apply further work permit?

Question 2 year work permit expires in Jan 2013, still waiting for PR, should I apply further work permit?

Hi Guys,

thank you for answering my queries, I notice that some members (Like JandM) are very knowledable and providing the best solutions for free, I really appreciate it.

I studied in Nz, and have been working as ICT sales rep since 2 years in a reputed telecommunication company. I am on 2 years closed work permit. My visa is expiring in Jan 2013. I got 2 questions.
    1) I submitted my documents for my residency in May 2012, My CO was assigned in August 2012, only thing he asked from me is repeating my medical test, which came normal (Hep C test). After that, he didn't ask me for any documents, When I asked him my status, he advised me that he already made his recommnadation on my application, and now it is waiting for 2nd person check. My question is : is it a positive sign?

2) My visa is expiring in Jan 2012, Should I apply further work permit? I applied my PR as ICT sales Rep but I was offered a position as branch manager(Same employer) (Store Manager in a dealer telecommunication company store). I am working as standing manager at the moment as I don't want to distrub immigration process so I will take the role officially once I get my PR. Should I first apply for VOC (Variation of conditions) or for just the work permit extensiton on same job role (ICT sales rep)?
    Thank you,

EOI submitted : 23 Dec 2011
    EOI Selected : 11 Jan 2012
    ITA lodged : 10 Feb 2012
    ITA submitted : 2 May 2012
    1st Query :28 June 2012 (From SMC team wellington has asked the pay slips and bank statements for 6 months, IRD report last 12 months, repeat
    LFT and Hep C, & organisational chart )
    1st Query submitted:22 July 2012 ) )
    CO Assigned :13 August 2012 (Advised that he will do the assessment in few weeks)