Thread: Do I need to fill in an EOI?

Question Do I need to fill in an EOI?

Hi,

I am getting really confused and seem to be going around in circles between NZQA website and immigration.

I am a UK trained teacher (currently teaching in Thailand) looking to move to NZ in the future. I know that I need to get my qualification assessed with NZQA but do I need to fill in an EOI aswell??

I know this question has probably been asked and answered somewhere on this forum but my eyes are becoming crossed from looking!!

Keely

Yes - The Expression of Interest is the first official step in applying to Immigration New Zealand to work/live here. As part of the process, you will need to prove your qualifications and experience and the NZQA assessment is one aspect of that, along with documenting your work history, medicals etc. Having a determination from NZQA won't gain you the right to work or live here but it may be a necessary component of getting there.

Hope that helps.

And you will need to register with NZTC before INZ will consider you qualified. http://www.teacherscouncil.govt.nz/os/

Thanks for the replies.

I understand that I need to get the NZQA assessment and then register with the teaching council and am in the process of this.

Once I have that assessment do I still need to register an EOI? or can I apply for jobs and then apply direct for a work visa rather than the EOI?

Once I have that assessment do I still need to register an EOI? or can I apply for jobs and then apply direct for a work visa rather than the EOI?
    You COULD do that, as far as INZ are concerned, but I think you're less likely to be successful in applying to schools. Many teachers have found it hard enough to get a job even WITH Residence (end result of the SMC process) already in hand so they could start at once. And if you were hoping to get a work visa, you'd be applying, saying they'd have to wait for you to go through the visa process.