Thread: Canadian pharmacist - how to get permanent residency in NZ?

Default Canadian pharmacist - how to get permanent residency in NZ?

Hi all!

As you can see in my siggy, I submittted my EOI a while back since I figured I'd have a decent chance of being selected due to having 125 points, including bonus points for work experience in an area of absolute skills shortage etc. (I'm a retail pharmacist).

But I read somewhere that you can't claim points for your qualifications/experience in an area of absolute skilled shortage if you are not registered to practice your profession in New Zealand.

Trouble is, to become registered as a pharmacist in NZ, I must first write and pass a $1200 CAOP exam, then complete 3 mo. of supervised work, then pass an oral jurisprudence exam.

Sooo, perhaps I've submitted my EOI as a skilled migrant too soon? ie. they won't consider my skilled migrant qualifications yet since I'm not registered to practice in NZ yet?

And while I can go ahead and write the CAOP exam whenever it's offered, I can't just go to NZ and work towards my 3 mo. of supervised practice requirement unless I have the appropriate VISA...