Thread: Salary details in job descriptions

Default Salary details in job descriptions

Hi everyone,

My OH is currently getting his teaching qualifications assessed by NZQA and I've been wondering whether it's worth me doing this too. I'm a professional librarian (have a degree in information management), so presumably I would have to get my qualifications assessed if I wanted to work as one in NZ, and it would be easier to do that while I'm in the UK and can contact previous employers etc.

The thing is, I can't work out whether it would be worth it or not. The profession is not all that well paid in the UK and probably even less so in NZ - I might get a better salary working in a clerical position for all I know. I've joined a library forum and have been checking vacancies out on LIANZA (NZ library association), but they never give the salary offered.

Is this normal in NZ? Do people usually apply for jobs without knowing the salary? I'm not very materialistic (wouldn't be considering moving there if I was!), but I usually like to know what I'd be earning so I can compare that against the level of responsibility. What usually happens - do you phone up for more info and get quoted a salary range then, or is it something that is negotiated at the interview stage?

Would be grateful for any insights on this.

Debbie

Hello Debbie

There is a job opportunity with National Library of New Zealand :

Library Adviser
    School Services – Auckland
    Vacancy number: NL1798

Are you passionate about the role of libraries in supporting education?

This is a challenging opportunity to contribute to the development of school libraries, working as an Adviser within National Library’s Auckland Centre. School Services contributes to the Library’s vision to connect New Zealanders with information important to all aspects of their lives, by developing and delivering services which support teaching and learning in New Zealand schools.