Thread: Autoglazier with 18 yrs experience wants visa somehow

Default Autoglazier with 18 yrs experience wants visa somehow

Hi there,
    Can anyone help. I'm looking for anyway of getting a visa for nz. I'm 36 and am an experienced autoglazier. I have an NVQ level 2 Diploma and 18 years work experience.
    Looking for visa advise as my job is not on the shortage list.
    Any help is much appreciated.

Hi Winnie

From the information you've posted, you wouldn't be able to apply under the SMC (Skilled Migrant Category) as you are unlikely to score enough points.

As you've realised, your job isn't on the skills in demand list, so it is unlikely you will be able to apply under the Work to Residence route.

It is on the list of essential skills, see here but at skill level 4 - job classification 899412 AUTOGLAZIER.

Essential skills work visas (temporary and usually for up to 2 years) are aimed at skill level 1,2 and 3 AND your prospective employer would have to prove there was no Kiwi capable of doing the job have a look here .

You don't say what your family circumstances are or the reason you are looking for the visa. If you are single there is nothing to stop you applying for a working holiday visa. But if you are looking to relocate more permanently by yourself or with family for the longer term I wouldn't get your hopes up, sorry. Unless you have a partner who may score more highly and they could be the principal applicant?

Others may have ideas but that's my reading of the requirements.

If you are single there is nothing to stop you applying for a working holiday visa.
    Sorry, but at 36 he's over the age limit for WHV or BUNAC IEP.

Quote Originally Posted by JandM View Post
    Sorry, but at 36 he's over the age limit for WHV or BUNAC IEP.
    Of course, you are right - I'd focused on his skills and not age!

Sorry OP, not looking good for you.

Do you have money to buy or start a business? Perhaps you could look at one of the investment visas: