Thread: Possible move to Blenheim from the UK

Default Possible move to Blenheim from the UK

Hi all,

I'm currently awaiting the outcome of my residence visa application via my native Kiwi partner. He has a very promising job interview in Blenheim, and although I've visited the area on my trips to NZ before, I was wondering if anyone can give any advice on the area. I'm a commercial solicitor in my mid-late twenties, so will either be looking to become a registered lawyer in NZ or move into another related career path, but not sure what job opportunities are like. Any advice on family life (we don't have kids yet but hopefully in the near future), and social life in the area appreciated also!

Thanks

Sarah

Hi sarah,

Welcome to the forum.

Unfortunately, my one trip through Blenheim isn't enough to make a comment of any value. But I found my ultimate destinations nearby, Picton and the surroundings quite pretty.

I think with your UK legal qualifications you'll get exempted from some or most of the registration requirements. Even though I'm admitted in the US, because my basic egal education was from Ukraine, I was asked to take all six parts of the exams for foreign lawyers. I decided not to do this as I am still able to do some US-based work remotely from here. You can look up the general info on NZ lawyer registration here: http://www.ibanet.org/PPID/Constitue...aland.aspx#4.1
    Here's more detailed info on the actual application process: http://www.nzcle.org.nz/Docs/Admission_Brochure.pdf I think it'll be easier to get registered and find a lawyer's job rather than finding a law-related one without registration.

Good luck.

There are several forum members living in/around Blenheim, who would be closer to your age than me ..., I can only speak for myself and we love living here.