Thread: New member - question re granparents multiple entry visa

Default New member - question re granparents multiple entry visa

Hello everybody this is my first time posting on this forum (or any forum for that matter ) and am excited to be starting this journey with my daughter and her husband and children. My son in law is a NZ citizen and they have decided to move to NZ towards the end of this year and they want me to come along

We are planning on applying for the grandparents multiple entry visa in due course which I understand will allow me to visit for a total of 18 months out of 36. My question is this: - due to unhappy circumstances (my husband of over 30 years died in September and I have literally no one else in the world apart from my daughter and her family and also suffer with long term severe depression), I am very worried about travelling on my own and also living on my own for months at a time between the gaps living in NZ (obviously I want to spread the visits out so I am not on my own for 1yr plus at the end of the visa). Is there any compassionate grounds that are considered to allow me to stay with my daughter permanently when they move out? My daughter and her son have been doing a lot of research and it doesn't look good but we are hoping there is some little clause etc. hidden away that we haven't found that will let me stay with them?

If there is no compassionate grounds, where do other grandparents live when they are not with their family in NZ? I want to sell my UK house as I don't want it filled with squatters or burgled when I come back!

I would be so grateful for any information and look forward to talking more to all of you.

Hello.

No, I'm afraid there isn't any special concession like you mention.