Thread: Anyone got any experience with the Wellington branch?

Default Anyone got any experience with the Wellington branch?

Hi,

I am new to this forum. I have lived i New Zealand for 5 years as I came here to study and now I am on a work visa. I have applied for skilled migrant residence. I would have applied for partnership residence as my partner is Kiwi and we have been living together for over a year but I was informed that this is only available to people who have been living in New Zealand for less than 2 years (sigh). So I have gone down the seemingly more complicated skilled migrant route. I have a PhD from an NZ university and a Masters degree from the UK, and I have a full time job here so I thought it would be relatively easy. But still the process is taking forever! I would have thought in my situation the process would be pretty straightforward since I have already made NZ my home but it seems like people who have never set foot in the country get residence faster than me! My ITA went in on October the 1st and I am still waiting for a case officer. It's crazy! Has anyone else applied through the Wellington branch? How long did it take?

Cheers,

Waiting

From Wellington branch processing times...

Once the pre-populated application form is returned to our branch and you lodge your residence application, your case officer will take on average nine to twelve months to make a final decision on your application.
    Ian

Thanks. Yes, I am aware that is what it says but I have heard of people getting it much faster so thought it may have been a 'worst case scenario' estimate. Perhaps I am going to be the worst case scenario! It just frustrates me because I have been here for 5 years and have paid taxes that whole time, contributed to the economy and I feel like it really should be faster. Anyway - I guess moaning doesn't speed it up!

Quote Originally Posted by Waiting View Post