Thread: NZ job adverts - salaries unspecified

Default NZ job adverts - salaries unspecified

Hi,

I've done some online research into job vacancies but none of the recruiters seem to specify salaries, making it difficult to know what to make a serious effort to apply for.

Has anyone else found this to be a problem?

We are going to a WorkingIn jobs fair in March which we hope will provide a bit more information...

Our contacts in NZ have indicated that our target salaries are achievable and ideally we're aiming for Christchurch or Wellington as a base... If anyone has suggestions of good job sites to use any advice would be gratefully received.

Hubby is a web developer / programmer with 20 years experience an I have been running a consultancy practice for a couple of years, but my background is marketing and business development.

Thanks in advance for any tips.
    Liz

Hi Liz!

I am not in your line of work but when I was looking into job opportunities in New Zealand as a midwife I found a lot of reference points online. Just searched the web and forums and found a vague idea as to what a midwife in general and I in particular with my working experience should earn.

Now, saying that, as a hospital based midwife salaries are quite fixed and go by increments depending on years of experience. Probably a bit easier to research than the line of work of your husband is in in the private sector.

Even with that knowledge I have been advised before my job interview not to talk about money during the interview. But maybe that could be the culture in the public sector? My proposed salary only came with the job offer/contract and I am happy I didn't have to negotiate... then again, you'd have to see what the costs of living are and I have a feeling New Zealand is not cheap. But we are not going for the money.

Good luck with the decision-making

Hanna

You can check out Robert Walters salary survey for year 2012. It covers many IT job titles.