Thread: NZ Residant Visa holder consider domestic student in Australia?

Question NZ Residant Visa holder consider domestic student in Australia?

Hi,

Currently i am studying in Australia and mean while i got the resident visa of New Zealand, now i consider as a domestic student in Australia or still international student?

Extract from university of Auckland "They are for domestic students only (New Zealand and Australian citizens and permanent residents)", even in New Zealand if i hold a resident visa not considered as a domestic student?

if you are a NZ resident visa holder, then you will be counted as a domestic student in NZ only.
    Education Act 1989 Section 159 from www.legislation.govt.nz
    domestic student, at any time, means a person who is then—
    (a)a New Zealand citizen; or
    (b)the holder of a residence class visa granted under the Immigration Act 2009 who satisfies the criteria (if any) prescribed by regulations made under subsection (4); or
    (c)a person of a class or description of persons required by the Minister, by notice in the Gazette, to be treated as if they are not international students

Looking at various Australian sources - and it's what Australia says that counts, not what NZ law would be - it seems that getting NZ Residence won't make any difference to your situation, and they'll still count you as an international student. NZ and Australia have certain agreements which favour each other's nationals, but you're not closely enough linked with NZ (yet) to benefit.

Hi. Do be aware also that although you would be a doemstic student in NZ in would threfore only pay domestic fees, new rules in the last last couple of years mean that you are not elgible for a stduent loan for 2 years after gaining residence.