Thread: Got ITA but Im worried my "skilled employment"

Default Got ITA but Im worried my "skilled employment"

Hi All,

I have been in NZ for student visa to study my first Bachelor. I have been working as a research assistant in the Institute which is partnered with the university since the summer in 2011. It is the job studying economic projects and my degree also majors in Economics.

I finished my Bachelor in Dec 2012 and hence, I have decided to apply for resident visa. I have got ITA and I am collecting my documents to submit back. However, I have been so worried about my satisfaction for "skilled employment" after going around the forum. Since Dec 2011, I have worked on three continual contracts. They are 8-month contract and 4-month ones (corresponding to academic university period and summer period). My current contract ends at the end of Feb 2013.

My questions are:
    1) Am I correct when I classify me as an "Economist" occupation?
    2) Does my job satisfies "ongoing"?

As the Institute is formed in 2008 and partnered with the university, I am confident the job is sustainable.

Because all of my three contracts state "no further employment is implied...", I wonder whether my employment satisfies the other definition of 'skilled employment', where it states "If you are offered a contact and have a history of working on contracts in your occupation, then this may be accepted as ‘skilled employment’ if INZ is satisfied that the work is likely to continue."

A favoured point is that I have promoted by 1 salary grade in my position but I worries my past and current status of "student visa". As a holder of student visa, I cannot work more than 20 hours during studying period, and hence, my history of employment of one of the three contracts (i.e, in the second 8-month contract) will show the working hours below 30 hours.