Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: EOI question

Default EOI question

Hi everyone!

I am new to this forum and decided to join it after reading some very useful posts...I have a few questions that I need to ask before I start planning on my EOI application.

1 - I am an Indian citizen but residing in US since last 5 yrs (on my work visa). I did my MS here and then found a job here..I will be applying in the Skilled Migrant category but wanted to know if I can apply from US even though I am an Indian citizen??

2 - Since I have a Masters Degree from an accredited US university and I have been working here, is it possible for me to get an exempt for my IELTS examination?

3- What is exactly considered as a close family? My dad's brother is a NZ citizen, although we have a blood relationship would this be considered as close family?

I would appreciate if someone can assist me on this....
    Last edited by Harry221; 10th March 2013 at 08:38 AM.

Hello.

1. Yes, you certainly can apply from wherever in the world you are, regardless of your nationality. The office you have to send to depends on where you are. See the INZ office and fees finder.

2. Yes. As you will see here http://www.immigration.govt.nz/opsmanual/41495.htm, you can submit other evidence of competence in English, besides an IELTS result. Often, officials have a knee-jerk reaction and say, 'Where is your IELTS?' so it is a good idea to write in your covering letter that you are proving English ability by the fact that your degree was taught entirely in English, that you work in an English-speaking environment, and you are living in an English-speaking country - and be prepared to point that out again after submission, judging by what has happened to many applicants. Notice, if there is any doubt about any of your proof, the CO has the right eventually to demand an IELTS score, but with the amount you are able to provide, it shouldn't happen.