Thread: IQA for UK Masters (Hons) Degree - course transcripts - help :)

Question IQA for UK Masters (Hons) Degree - course transcripts - help :)

Hi,

I've read the INZ / NZQA websites which explain the documents you need to submit for an IQA. I completed my degree nearly 20 years ago in London, UK.

I have no "secondary school certificate" (I don't even know what one is, unless it's referring to my A-Level results) because that's one slip of paper from 20 years ago which I don't recall ever seeing. Maybe it's in my parent's attic. The university would have been informed directly of my A Level results and awarded me a university place on that basis. Plus I've moved house about 5 times and moved countries since then, so stuff just gets cleared out.

I also have no "transcript" (whatever that is) of my university course. I don't recall ever having one and again, except for reading a brochure describing the course, and it's 20 years ago so that's not something I would have kept in any case. Rummaging around in my cellar, I have loads of lecture notes, copies of some course marks for some of the years, my university course registration forms for all years, pus my original degree certificate. I have no detailed description of the syllabus and the university won't be able to provide one from 20 years ago! The course still exists today and is almost the same, with a few small changes from what I can see, and this information is available on the university website.

I'm now really worried that my plans may be scuppered because I haven't kept every bit of paper I ever got from 20 years ago. Can anyone help me to judge if I'm likely to get into trouble here with my lack of original documentation? My degree is listed in the Washington Accord, if that helps. It was also awarded by Imperial College, London and there's nothing complicated about my case (i.e. I am British, studied in London and was awarded the degree in London).

cheers,
    Dom