Thread: Am eligible to apply with work integrated Masters Degree

Question Am eligible to apply with work integrated Masters Degree

I am from India, planning to submit EOI form as Skilled migrant to New Zealand.

I have a query regarding this for which I hope I could find the solution from you; please take time to read it and kindly reply to me.
    I completed my Bachelors Degree in Electronics and communications in 2008. After then I started working as SQL server Database Administrator from 2009. Currently I completed 4 years in SQL DBA.

Mean while I had completed my Masters of Science in software Engineering from BITS, Pilani (Most reputed institution in India) in 2012. This is degree is a work integrated program which has been carried by my employer “Cognizant Technology Solutions” in collaboration with BITS Pilani which is considered as a full time degree by International community.

Now my query here is ‘will I am allowed to apply as SQL Server DBA with 4 years of Experience(2009 - 2013) and Masters Degree holder(2012)’ or should I have apply with only my Bachelors Degree?

With Masters Degree, I can earn 10 more points in EOI, which may help me better as I currently don’t hold any job or Job offer in New Zealand.

Thanks for your time,
    Regards,
    Sandeep.

As your qualification is not mentioned here http://www.immigration.govt.nz/opsmanual/45790.htm, on the INZ list of qualifications exempt from assessment, it isn't possible to say how INZ would view your Master's - it will have to be assessed by NZQA. You will see that the note states that the MSc degrees mentioned there are counted as 50 points only, and that if anyone feels their degree may be worth more, they will have to ask for NZQA assessment.