Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Geotechnical/ geo environmental/ geo drilling work

Default Geotechnical/ geo environmental/ geo drilling work

Hi all, would like some advice on finding work within the Geotechnical/ geo environmental/ geo drilling sectors out there in NZ. I keep on receiving emails asking for geotech engineers with plenty of experience. I am working here in the UK as a geoenvironmental driller and deal mostly in contaminated land (i dont suppose there is alot of that in the fair isles of NZ). However, I have a geology degree but have failed to find an entry level job in geotechnicals here in the UK. I dont have alot of experience in geotech field but have drilling experience and have learnt the rationale of soil logging/sampling/monitoring ect. What would be my chances (good,bad, or ugly) if i flew out to Christchurch in search of (any sort of) entry level geo work. Thanks for any response

Good, I'd say. Backlogs for geotechnical assessments in Christchurch are still over 6 months. A lack of sufficient equipment is part of the problem, but trained operators are definitely still needed. If you've any experience with CPT equipment, that would be a definite plus.

I actually work in the oil industry and will be moving out to New Plymouth next month as part of a relocation with my company... Not quite geotech drilling but if you're interested in getting into the oil industry, New Plymouth is where most of it is taking place

Quote Originally Posted by sks View Post
    Good, I'd say. Backlogs for geotechnical assessments in Christchurch are still over 6 months. A lack of sufficient equipment is part of the problem, but trained operators are definitely still needed. If you've any experience with CPT equipment, that would be a definite plus.

Thats good news thanks for reply.

Im into land drilling really and the sea scares the b'jesus out of me. Thanks for reply thou

Quote Originally Posted by jn100 View Post