Thread: single person moving to new zealand

Default single person moving to new zealand

Hi, I'm 27 and planning on moving to New Zealand from Wales. I would be doing the move alone. Is this a feasible option? I am a qualified carpenter and have been told that my trade is in demand. I have a seminar in May which is about a move to New Zealand. What are rough costs, would I be be getting a part time visa for 3yrs or get the full?

Hi. It's quite feasible to move to NZ alone. Carpentry is only on the Canterbury Skills Shortage List so far as I can see. There is a real chance of jobs in the Christchurch area becoming available between July and October accordng to INZ. A couple of thoughts. Do you have a qualification, if so, what si it? You woudl need something equivalent to NZ's level 4 - that's a bit higher than a BTEC Diploma - but, sometimes work expereince plus a lower qualification will do the trick. As you are under 30, one thing you could do would be to apply under the Working Holiday Scheme. This woud give you up to 23 months in NZ during which you could work for up to 12 months and study for up to 6 months. Obviously you would be making lots of contacts during this time and would defintiely improve your chances of getting a job in NZ leading to a Work Visa and then residence, all being well. The cost of a Working Holiday Visa for a UK Citizen is only £85. If you apply for the 12 month one initially, you won't even need to have a medical or xray. have a look at http://www.immigration.govt.nz/migra...idayscheme.htm. let me know if oyu need more help. Good luck! Karen

Quote Originally Posted by Karen Phillips View Post